State Cross Country Success

The NSW Combined Catholic Colleges (NSWCCC) and NSW Catholic Primary School (NSWCPS) Cross Country Championships is the only event in the sporting calendar where primary and secondary students have the opportunity to compete on the same day.

This year there were some outstanding performances from the Maitland-Newcastle Diocese.

In the secondary division, Samuel Taylor from St Francis Xavier’s College, Hamilton flew home to take out first place.

Abrahm Russell from St Joseph’s College, Lochinvar followed suit in the youngest secondary age group, coming first in the 12 years, as did Darcy Taaffe from St Joseph’s High School, Aberdeen in the 12 years girls division.

Others who placed in the Top 10 and qualified for NSW All Schools included:

In the primary division, Caoimhe Bray from St Joseph’s Primary School, Denman was the Diocese’s strongest runner, winning the 10 years division.

Other great runs which resulted in a spot for NSW Primary School Sports Association (NSWPSSA) selection were:

All of these students will represent the Diocese, Polding and NSW All Schools early next term.

Follow on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.