Local Maitland AECG Pathways Awards

Hosted by Grossman High School, a number of students and staff from St Joseph’s College, Lochinvar and All Saints’ College, Maitland received awards at the local Maitland Aboriginal Education Consultancy Group (AECG) Pathways Awards night.

The awards are sponsored by the local Aboriginal Land Council Aboriginal Education Consultancy Group, who provide incentives to encourage Aboriginal students to find value education and to stay involved until the completion of Year 12 or until employed in meaningful long-term employment.

The local Maitland branch of the organisation engages and encourages all schools in the area to belong and participate in the organisation and actively engages with Catholic schools and private schools through the sharing of resources, information and by maintaining a welcoming and engaging culture.

The Pathway Awards night is an opportunity to recognise over 150 Indigenous students and community members for their achievements and contributions to local schools.

The students from All Saints’ College who received awards were:

  • Blair Munro (Year 12) – Attainment
  • Isabella Lantry (Year 12) – Attainment
  • Simone Haley (Year 12) – Attainment
  • Tahlia Brien (Year 12) – Attainment
  • Marley Huggins (Year 12) – Contribution to Culture
  • Joel Lucas (Year 12) – Contribution to Sport
  • Jack Love (Year 12) – Education and also received a special award Leadership and Education
  • Maya Regazzo (Year 10) – Contribution to Culture
  • Jessica Love (Year 8) – Contribution to Culture
  • Kate Love – Contribution to Sport.

Colin Love (IESIP Teacher at All Saints’ College, Maitland), also received the Community Award for Contribution to Aboriginal Education.

“Zara Francisco (Aboriginal Support Teacher at St Joseph’s College, Lochinvar), Bryan Rowe (Aboriginal Education Teacher at San Clemente High School, Mayfield) and I felt very proud to be acknowledged for our work with Aboriginal Education, especially when the nomination for the Community Award came from the local AECG committee,” said Colin.

“We regularly attend and play a role at the monthly meetings and Zara and I have hosted the monthly meeting at our schools when required.”

At St Joseph’s Lochinvar, the students who received awards were:

  • Sophie Cunningham
  • Soriah Duroux
  • Isabella Parker
  • Tineka Rachubinski
  • Finnian Johnson
  • Memphis Smith
  • Wil Avery
  • Olivia Murray
  • Leah Henderson

“The Pathway Awards are a great initiative of the AECG for us to recognise and celebrate our Aboriginal and Torres Islander students’ accomplishments and the contributions made by our community to the education and wellbeing of our children,” said Bryan.



Follow mnnews.today on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.