Diocesan principal recognised for outstanding leadership at annual awards

Mandy Sanderson, Principal of St John the Baptist Primary School, Maitland, has been commended for her dedication and contributions to teaching and learning in NSW at the recent 2016 annual Principals Australia Institute (PAI), John Laing Awards.

One of only five principals in the state to be recognised, Mandy, who has provided leadership to St John’s for 14 years, was commended for allowing her staff to focus on the individual child and allowing the curriculum to be differentiated to suit the needs of that child.

Established in 2014, the Awards acknowledge and celebrate the contribution principals make to support professional learning in schools and the wider community. “We as a society need to give principals the kudos and credit they deserve in the great work they do,” said Paul Geyer, CEO of PAI.

“Business leaders are respected and looked up to in society; school leaders should receive the same acknowledgement because they are helping to shape the future citizens of our society.”

Catholic Schools Office, All Saints Region Assistant Director, Chris Quinn, commended Mandy on her much deserved award.

“Mandy has provided wonderful leadership in her school. She consistently builds the capacity of her staff and her recent work in growth coaching, collaborative learning communities and the use of innovative student intervention strategies within her school has been of great benefit to the learning environment at St John’s," said Chris.

“She is an excellent principal and a fine educative leader for all teachers to emulate.”

Last year, St Aloysius Primary School, Chisholm, Principal, Suzanne Fern, shared in the same honour, being awarded a 2015 PAI John Laing Award.

Mandy was nominated by the Association of Catholic School Principals NSW.

Follow mnnews.today on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Alyssa Faith Image
Alyssa Faith

Alyssa Faith was the Communications Manager for the Catholic Schools Office, Diocese of Maitland-Newcastle from 2016 - 2017 and a regular contributor to Aurora and mnnews.today.